Skip to content

Aging and the brain

December 5, 2010

I love what I study.

Despite the fact that I am clocking seemingly endless hours into this paper that I’m currently writing, I am not completely miserable.

Why?

Because this is a topic that is super fascinating to me! People always ask how and WHY ON EARTH I want to complete 10 years of university education. To most people, ‘education’ brings on anxieties stemming from tests, writing papers, and giving presentations. But in a more true sense, education is learning. And for me, education is learning about something I truly want to learn about. Put in this way, is it so crazy to think that I would want to devote 10 years to learning something I want to learn about? (Ok, I haven’t even convinced myself entirely, but I think it’s due to the sheer daunting number of 10 that is off-putting).

Hopefully this optimism lasts me a long, long time (at least 5 years please?). If not, let’s just settle on this motivation lasting me through the remainder of this paper 😉

No comments yet

Leave a comment